EUROS Trophy (Photo by Frank Augstein / POOL / AFP)

Who Won the Last Euros?

It’s almost time for the European Championships in Germany, so we’ve decided that it would be a good time to take a look at the previous winners of this prestigious tournament. Find out more about who won the last Euros here.

Find information about the EURO 2024 on TV here:
→ See a full overview for UEFA EURO 2024 on TV

Who won the Euros 2021?

The 16th edition of the Euros or, European Championship, was postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic and was eventually held in 2021 where Italy were crowned champions. The Italians had a brilliant tournament and faced a giant hurdle in the final when they faced England in their home stadium, Wembley. In front of 67,000 fans, many of whom were backing the Three Lions, Italy came out on top to claim their second ever European Championship by winning the game 3-2 on penalties after a 1-1 draw in extra time.

UEFA Euro Cup Winners List

YearHost CountryWinnersResultSecond Place
2021Multiple HostsItalyFT: 1-1, PK: 3-2England
2016FrancePortugal1-0 after extra timeFrance
2000Belgium/NetherlandsFrance2-1 (Golden Goal)Italy
1996EnglandGermany2-1 (Golden Goal)Czech Republic
1988West GermanyThe Netherlands2-0Soviet Union
1980ItalyWest Germany3-0Soviet Union
1976YugoslaviaCzech RepublicFT: 2-2, PK: 5-3West Germany
1972BelgiumWest Germany3-0Soviet Union
1968ItalyItalyFT: 1-1, Replay: 2-0Yugoslavia
1964SpainSpain2-1Soviet Union
1960FranceSoviet UnionFT: 1-1, 2-1 after extra timeYugoslavia

Have Germany won the Euros?

Yes, Germany has won the Euros previously. Germany has actually won of the most successful nations when it comes to this tournament and boasts a total of three gold medals in 1996, 1980, and 1972 respectively. Germany, alongside Spain, are the only nations with three titles to their names.

As the host country for this summer’s Euros, the pressure will be on Germany to bring the trophy home yet again. Despite not being on the best run of form ahead of the tournament, their rich history in the finals, as well as having a highly talented pool of players to select from means that they definitely are amongst the favourites.

How many times has England won the Euros?

England have unfortunately never been crowned champions of Europe despite always having some of the biggest names representing the country. Their best finishes at the Euros include reaching the semi-finals in 1996 when they hosted the tournament, and most recently losing in the final against Italy on penalties despite playing on home ground at Wembley.

It’s not all doom and gloom, however. In recent years, Gareth Southgate has instilled a belief in the squad and England fans that they are indeed capable of delivering a long-awaited piece of silverware to the nation. This is arguably also one of England’s most talented generations ever, with the likes of veterans Harry Kane, Kyler Walker, and John Stones, as well as a plethora of emerging world class talent, with the cream of the crop being Real Madrid star Jude Bellingham.

There is a strong feeling amongst supporters that this could be their year. Bring on the Euros!