• 20 Wed
  • 21 today
  • 22 Fri
  • 23 Sat
  • 24 Sun
  • 25 Mon
  • 26 Tue
  • 27 Wed
  • 28 Thu
  • 29 Fri
  • 30 Sat
  • 1 Sun
  • 2 Mon

EURO 2020 on TV and Stream

The Men's European Football Championship, also known as UEFA EURO 2020, was won by Italy. In the final of the European Championship Final on 11 July 2021, they defeated England after penalties. England had qualified directly for the European Championship 2020 as group winners in qualifying group A. Several teams also qualified via the Nations League. See our overview of EURO 2020 schedule (EURO 2021 schedule) and watch the EURO 2021 on TV and via live stream.

  1. Final

 Click on a group to filter the listings

What can we expect from the European Championship 2021?

The concept remains unchanged as planned. If all goes well, there will be a European football party in 12 different countries. The following cities have already confirmed their spectator capacities:
St. Petersburg - 50%
Budapest - full capacity
Baku - 25-33% when tests are negative
Amsterdam, Bukarest and Copenhagen - 25-33% with the possibility of increasing them in line with tests and vaccinations
London - minimum 25% for the three matches in the group stage and the round of sixteen. At the beginning of June, this capacity could be increased for the semi-finals and the final.

EURO qualifiers

Qualifying for the European Championship began in March 2019, when 50 European national teams were divided into 10 groups. The top two from each group went on.

EURO 2020 Groups

Here you can find the EURO 2021 groups. In italics is the respective current ranking in the FIFA World rankings.

  • Group A
    Italy, 7
    Switzerland, 13
    Turkey, 29
    Wales, 17

The matches will be played in Rome, Italy and Baku, Azerbaijan. Italy failed to qualify for the 2018 World Cup but secured 30 points in 10 matches in an impressive European Championship qualifying campaign. Switzerland are the second favourites in Group A. Wales qualified as the second-ranked team in the qualifier group E.

  • Group B
    Belgium, 1
    Denmark, 10
    Russia, 38
    Finland, 54

The matches will be played in Copenhagen, Denmark and St Petersburg, Russia. Belgium are the best national team in the world according to the current FIFA rankings, while the Danes also start the group as favourites with their three home matches.

  • Group C
    Netherlands, 16
    Austria, 23
    North Macedonia, 62

The matches will be played in Amsterdam (Netherlands) and Bucharest (Romania). The Netherlands are the favourites and have reached the Nations League final. North Macedonia has qualified for a major tournament for the first time.

  • Group D
    England, 4
    Croatia, 14
    Czech Republix, 40
    Scotland, 44

The matches will be played in London, England and Glasgow, Scotland. The group includes both Croatia, the finalists, and England, third-placed at the 2018 World Cup. Czech Republic and Scotland, who qualified via the Nations League and have home advantage, are nevertheless considered outsiders' chances.

  • Group E
    Spain, 6
    Poland, 21
    Sweden, 18
    Slovakia, 36

The matches will be played in Bilbao, Spain and Dublin, Ireland. An open battle for second place is expected behind favourites Spain.

  • Group F
    Germany, 12
    France, 2
    Portugal, 5
    Hungary, 37

The probably strongest group sees World Cup winner France, defending champion Portugal, World Cup winner 2014 German and Hungary fighting for potentially three spots for the knockout phase. The matches will be played in Munich and Budapest..

EURO history

The European Football Championships have been held since 1960, but the rules have changed over time. Until 1976, four teams met for the semi-finals and final. From 1980, the playoffs were expanded to eight teams, including a group stage before the playoffs. In 1996, the playoffs were expanded to 16 teams. Countries were divided into four groups of four teams, with the group winners and runners-up reaching the quarter-finals. In the 2016 European Championship, there were 24 teams divided into six groups. The top two teams in the group and the top four third-placed teams qualified for the knockout stage.

Statistics and moments from the European Football Championship

Germany and Spain have each won the European Championship three times. Only Spain has won the tournament twice in a row (2008-2012).

The Soviet Union (1960), Spain (1964), Italy (1968) and Germany (1972) won the first editions of the European Football Championship.

In 2004, Greece won both the opening match and the final against hosts Portugal. No one had expected the Greeks to win before the European Championship. The victory is considered perhaps the greatest sensation in the history of the European Championship.
England is yet waiting for a participation of a EURO final. Their best results date back to 1968 and 1996, when they reached the semi-finals.

  • The EURO 1960
    …took place in France. The final in Paris between the Soviet Union and Yugoslavia ended 2-1.

  • The EURO 1964
    ...was played in Spain. The hosts beat the Soviet Union 2-1 in the final in Madrid.

  • The EURO 1968
    ...was played in Italy. The hosts defeated Yugoslavia 2-0 in the final in Rome.

  • At the EURO 1972
    ...Germany won its first European Championship title with a 3-0 victory over the Soviet Union in the final in Belgium.

  • The EURO 1976
    ...was played in Yugoslavia. Germany was beaten 5:4 by Czechoslovakia in the final after a penalty shoot-out.

  • The European Championship 1980
    ...was won by Germany after a 2-1 win over Belgium in Rome.

  • The football EC 1984
    ...was played in France. The hosts secured their first title by beating Spain 2-0 in the final in Paris.

  • The EURO 1988
    ...took place in Germany. Netherlands won their only major national title to date with a 2-0 victory over the Soviet Union in the final.

  • The EURO 1992
    ...saw a surprising winner in Sweden. In the final in Gothenburg, the sensational team from Denmark beat the German selection 2-0.

  • At the EURO 1996
    ...England played at home and they were close to the finals. However, they lost their semi-final to Germany after penalties. Thanks to the first ever Golden Goal in a EURO final by Oliver Bierhoff, Germany subsequently lso won the final 2-1 against the Czech Republic.

  • The EURO 2000
    ...was hosted by the Netherlands and Belgium. In Rotterdam, too, the golden goal decided the eventual title winner. David Trezeguet made France celebrate against Italy.

  • The EURO 2004
    ...was played in Portugal. The final in Lisbon was won 1-0 by Greece.

  • The European football cup 2008
    ...was played in Austria and Switzerland. In the final, Spain beat Germany 1-0.

  • The EURO 2012 Ukraine and Poland saw the highest final victory in the history of the European Championship. Spain rolled over Italy 4-0.

  • At the Euro 2016
    ...the next surprise after Denmark in 1992 and Greece in 2004 took place. In Saint-Denis, Portugal snatched the title from hosts France after a goal in extra time.

  • If you want to watch the 2021 European Football Championship on TV and live stream, follow our TV guide for a complete overview of the schedule and where to watch football live.